Book Reviews

Blog Tour: Glimpsed Book Review

Glimpsed

Author: G.F. Miller

Pages: 374 pages

Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance, Fantasy

Published: 5th January 2021

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Rating: 5 stars!

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Geekerella and Jenn Bennett, this charming, sparkly rom-com follows a wish-granting teen forced to question if she’s really doing good—and if she has the power to make her own dreams come true.

Charity is a fairy godmother. She doesn’t wear a poofy dress or go around waving a wand, but she does make sure the deepest desires of the student population at Jack London High School come true. And she knows what they want even better than they do because she can glimpse their perfect futures.

But when Charity fulfills a glimpse that gets Vidyha crowned homecoming queen, it ends in disaster. Suddenly, every wish Charity has ever granted is called into question. Has she really been helping people? Where do these glimpses come from, anyway? What if she’s not getting the whole picture?
Making this existential crisis way worse is Noah—the adorkable and (in Charity’s opinion) diabolical ex of one of her past clients—who blames her for sabotaging his prom plans and claims her interventions are doing more harm than good. He demands that she stop granting wishes and help him get his girl back. At first, Charity has no choice but to play along. But soon, Noah becomes an unexpected ally in getting to the bottom of the glimpses. Before long, Charity dares to call him her friend…and even starts to wish he were something more. But can the fairy godmother ever get the happily ever after?

Link to Purchase


About the Author:

G. F. Miller

G.F. Miller absolutely insists on a happy ending. Everything else is negotiable. Her wish is to go everywhere—and when a plane ticket isn’t available, books fill the gaps. She cries at all the wrong times. She makes faces at herself in the mirror. She believes in the Oxford comma. And she’s always here for a dance party.


My Review!

I received a copy of this book from G.F. Miller and Simon & Schuster as part of the Turn The Pages Blog Tour. You can check out the rest of the tour schedule here.

I read this book within the space of 24 hours, whilst I was meant to be doing an exam. If that doesn’t say how good it was then I don’t know what will! I loved this book so much! Glimpsed felt like such a refreshing read as I haven’t read YA contemporary in a while. Miller takes the classic folklore of a fairy godmother and twists it into a modern day setting. Charity is a fairy godmother, granting wishes to her fellow classmates. Not all these wishes are relationship-based, some are as simple as helping someone make the cheerleading team, or passing a test.

‘The fairy godmother doesn’t have friends. Friendship is messy and murky.’

Glimpsed jumps straight into the story and sets the scene well. Charity is a character who has complicated relationships with almost everybody in this book. One of her rules is that once the wish has been granted, she cuts contact with her “Cindy”. Throughout this book, she takes a journey of self-discovery and starts to understand more about her relationships and powers as a fairy godmother. Charity takes the initiative and decides she wants her own happily ever after, which I loved. I was so hooked to this story and I loved the development of Charity and her mother’s relationship, I thought it was very special and I’m glad it was included.

‘If you spend your life trying to protect yourself from getting hurt, you’ll end up missing the best parts.’

Now, Noah, how I love you. At the very beginning of the story Charity and Noah have a meet cute. At least they do in my opinion. Noah later approaches Charity and demands her to help him get his girl back, who was previously one of Charity’s Cindys. This book had so many tropes that I love, from (fr)enemies-to-lovers to fake dating. The romance was a slow burn but it was well worth it! It was such a perfect, escapist read. Charity learns valuable things from Noah which impact how she sees herself and the world and I love the development these two characters go through together. Towards the end of Glimpsed, I was grinning like a mad man!

I could talk about this book all day, but I don’t want to say anything else in case I spoil it! All I can say is, please read this book!! It is such a perfect, witty and lovable read.

If you’re interested in Glimpsed, check out the other tour stops on the blog tour to read author interviews, favourite quotes, reviews and more! Maybe even enter the giveaway below!


Giveaway!

For this tour, we have THREE (3) separate giveaways! Up for grabs, we have ONE (1) signed copy of Glimpsed by G.F. Miller (available to US only), TWO (2) EXCLUSIVE chapters from Noah’s POV, and a Skype or Zoom visit with the author (both available to INTL)! This will run from January 19th to January 26th at 11:59 PM CST. To enter this giveaway, click the link below!

Win a Glimpsed Giveaway!


Let me know if you plan on reading this book as I absolutely loved it!

Keep reading,

Georgia x

12 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Glimpsed Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s