Book Reviews

Falling Stars ARC Review

Falling Stars

Author: Sara Madderson

Pages: 352 pages

Genre: Romance

Published: 26th March 2022

Rating: 5 Stars

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Tessa Bailey, Lucy Score, Meghan Quinn and Ella Maise!

Hollywood superstar Josh Lander swept me off my feet at my first ever Cannes Film Festival. Our NSFW dance floor meet-cute went viral. I fell hard for him, while the press fell hard for us. Until he dumped me. On Twitter.

I’ve moved on, winning Oscars, battling an invisible illness, and forgetting all about He Who Shall Not Be Mentioned. Until we’re both cast in the biggest TV period drama of the decade. I’m the Duchess. And the Duke is… you’ve got it. Twitter Boy, straight from rehab and a box office bomb (karma’s a bitch).

The world is watching, giving me the perfect platform to show him he was out of his mind to cast me aside (maybe I’ll put my Academy Award on display in my trailer). It should all be fine, save for a few minor hurdles: this guy was made for tight breeches. His fake British accent and ducal demeanour send shivers down my spine. And most alarmingly, he’s says he’s reformed. I call BS.

Can I stand my ground? Withstand his temptations? Or will I disgrace my feminist image by swooning at His Grace’s fine ankles IRL?

Falling Stars is a celebrity, lovers to enemies to lovers, second chance romance with lashings of heart and heat and a #CrohnsWarrior heroine.

This trope-tastic romp forms part of the Love in London series of interconnected stand-alones.

My Review:

Thank you to the author for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

I loved this one! I first heard of it on TikTok from the author who said it was inspired by Bridgerton and Taylor Swift and Tom Hiddleston’s whirlwind romance. At that point, I knew I had to read it! I love romances about famous people (I think because I used to read a lot of One Direction fanfics!).

Ellery Hart is an up-and-coming actress attending Cannes film festival for her first ever film. Whilst there, she meets Josh Lander, the notorious playboy of Hollywood. At a party, Ellery puts on a show with some NSFW dance moves, and Josh is quick to join her. This meeting sends them on a whirlwind summer romance, only for it to come crashing down not long after.

‘I’ll need you to clear your schedule for the next week because you, my little British princess, are not going anywhere.’

Flash forward a few years, and Ellery refuses to mention Josh’s name. When she gets the lead on a regency drama show, she cannot pass it up as it’s based on one of her favourite books. The only issue is Josh has been cast as the love interest. Forced to work together, will Ellery let her guard down with the man who broke her heart?

‘I’ve never stopped being in love with you, and I can prove it.’

The characters in this story felt very real, and I loved the tropes. Ellery and Josh go from strangers to lovers to enemies to lovers. This isn’t just a romance though as the author deals with some other serious topics through her characters. Ellery has Crohn’s disease and this book sheds a light on how she deals with it and how it has caused her to change her lifestyle. Josh is a recovering alcoholic and Falling Stars shows his journey of trusting himself and his growth. These issues were well researched and made the book have more depth.

I really enjoyed this one and can’t wait for the sequel about some of the side characters! Definitely give it a chance if you’re a fan of second chance romance!

Keep reading,
Georgia x

3 thoughts on “Falling Stars ARC Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s