Book Reviews

Lost Stars ARC Review

Lost Stars

Author: Jasmine Jenkins and Sophie Suliman

Pages: 344 pages

Genre: NA Fantasy

Published: 27th April 2022

Rating: 5 Stars

Synopsis:

There is something wicked about the Greywick triplets.

Vivian, Marion, and Timothée Greywick’s father told them one thing before he died: stay away from the Celestial Academy for Fallen Stars. And they’ve done just that, becoming perfectly respectable members of society, with no use for star magic. Never mind that Vivian has a mysterious affliction that her siblings call an illness and she calls a curse. Never mind that Marion works at a leech shop and hoards blood for… some reason. Never mind that Timothée looks exactly like an ancient god who tormented the world thousands of years ago.

Never mind that on moonless nights, the Greywick siblings glow.

When the triplets accidentally save a prince from a vampire attack, they’re not just the Greywicks anymore. They’re the Lost Stars: descendants of the gods, harboring unforetold magic. Now they’re bound for the Celestial Academy for Fallen Stars, whether they like it or not.

A university in the sky. Clouds that rain starlight. Students with terrible magic and worse intentions. The Academy will test not only the triplets’ ability to survive, but their loyalty to each other.

Vivian falls for a prince and keeps trying to kill him.
Marion discovers a plot that can topple kingdoms and unseat even a god’s power if she claims it for herself.
And Timothée delves into magic so dark, it has been forbidden for thousands of years.

As the triplets unravel the secrets of the school, they begin to realize their father didn’t want to protect them from the Celestial Academy. He wanted to protect the Academy from them.

One will become a monster. The other, a queen. The last, a god.

Anything is possible at the Celestial Academy for Fallen Stars.

Wicked Academia: Lost Stars is a new adult fantasy romance perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses, Blood and Ash, and Zodiac Academy. It has magic, adventure, swoon-worthy romance, and spice! If you’ve graduated from Hogwarts, it’s time to attend the Celestial Academy for Fallen Stars!

My Review:

Thank you to the authors for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

I started reading Wicked Academia when it was available as a web novel and I was quickly pulled in to the world. When I had the opportunity to read an arc, I couldn’t resist!

Lost Stars is told from the perspectives of Vivian, Marion, and Timothée. Three siblings with a few secrets. Since they were children, their father had told them to stay away from the Celestial Academy of Fallen Stars. Another rule the siblings swore by was to never go out on a moonless night. These two things had never previously been an issue.

Vivian works in a candle shop and the night of the festival she meets Darius. At first she has no idea who he is, until he later reveals himself as the prince and invites her to the festival for a dance. Vivian knows she’s not meant to go, but who can resist a sweet prince! Marion works in a leech shop and collects leechs full of blood to take with her. When she’s on her way home, she bumps into a boy who shamelessly flirts with her, and unbeknownst to her, steals her bag with the leeches inside. The only place she knows she can find him is the festival. Timothée is known to enjoy a roll in the hay with the boys in their town, and on his way home he spots his sisters front row at the festival.

‘I am tied to you, and you to me. I will keep you safe through this moment and whatever comes after.’

A vampire attack causes the siblings to save the prince and his friends, one of which is Khalid, the boy who stole the leeches. During the attack, when the siblings joined hands, they glowed. From this moment on, their lives change completely and what they thought was true is shattered completely. They have to attend the Celestial Academy, whilst keeping their biggest secret, Vivian’s illness, from their classmates.

‘I’m not going to fall in love with you, you know.’

The magic system was so interesting! In order to have magic, they had to be invited to try and catch a falling star. The star you caught depended on what type of magic you would have. Morning stars have the power to create, evening stars to change, and dark stars to destroy.

‘I think if I cannot feel your touch, the ache of it will consume me.’

I’m really looking forward to the sequel as this book feels like it was just touching the surface of this world and these characters! Of course, there is romance, I’m not a savage, and I’m looking forward to seeing that develop even more in the next book too!

Keep reading,
Georgia x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s