Tags

Get to Know the Fantasy Reader Tag

When I saw I was tagged for the fantasy reader tag and then saw the questions I was so excited to create this post! Thank you so much to Hundreds & Thousands of Books for tagging me, if you haven’t already do check their blog out as it is one of my favourites!

Rules:

  • Make sure you give credit to the original creators of this tag – this tag was originally created by Bree Hill.
  • If you want to, pingback to the post you first saw this tag
  • Have fun!

What is your fantasy origin story? (The first fantasy you read)

I grew up reading a lot of fantasy books, so I think it was either The Chronicles of Narnia or the Harry Potter series! I read these when I was quite young so I have no idea if they were technically the first ones I read! Otherwise, it could have been the Rainbow Magic series or The Faraway Tree!

If you could be the hero/heroine in a fantasy novel, who would be the author and what’s one trope you’d insist be in the story?

oooo I am torn between Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black! I would have to be written into a book where fae are front and centre! And as enemies-to-lovers is my favourite, that trope would have to be in there!

What is a fantasy series you’ve read this year, that you want more people to read?

I haven’t read any series this year, apart from From Blood and Ash, but I think many people are reading those books! I have just finished The Stolen Kingdom, which is a fantasy standalone and that was really good! Also The Once and Future Queen series is good, I’ve just finished the sequel and it exceeded my expectations.

What is your favourite fantasy subgenre?

It definitely has to be high fantasy (I think that’s the right genre anyways!), so new magical worlds and high status characters. Reading is an escapism for me, and I love it when books can transport me to an intricately built world!

What subgenre have you not read much from?

I’ve just had a google and there were some I’d never even heard of, like The New Weird! I’ve not read much Gothic or Grimdark fantasy!

Who is one of your auto-buy fantasy authors?

Marissa Meyer, Sarah J. Maas, Holly Black, and Cassandra Clare! Also Leigh Bardugo, although I don’t own all her books yet!

How do you typically find fantasy recommendations? (Goodreads, Youtube, Podcasts, Instagram..)

This blog has led me to find so many new fantasy books, my TBR is brimming! But before that it was bookstagram and Goodreads!

What is an upcoming fantasy release you’re excited for?

Ahh so many! Out of this month’s upcoming releases, I’d have to say Bone Crier’s Dawn and Rule of Wolves! But I also very excited for The Crown of Gilded Bones!

What is one misconception about fantasy you would like to lay to rest?

I feel like many people think it’s just about fairies or magic, and whilst they can be included it’s about so much more than that! Fantasy books provide me with an escape and they’re about family, friendship, and overcoming evil (sometimes with magic)!

If someone had never read a fantasy before and asked you to recommend the first 3 books that come to mind as places to start, what would those recommendations be?

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black, A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, and Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Whilst you could say Cinder is more science-fiction, it is a great book and series that I am desperate to reread!

Who is the most recent fantasy reading content creator you came across that you’d like to shoutout?

When I was searching for fantasy sub-genres I came across an amazing blog post by Thoughts on Fantasy, so definitely check them out!


I Tag:

Isha @ Paperbacktomes

Julie @ One Book More

Becky @ Becky’s Book Blog

Amy @ A Fangirl’s Opinion

Etta @ Chonky Books


I loved answering the questions to this tag! And I hope you like reading my answers! Do we have similar tastes in fantasy books?

Keep reading,

Georgia x

33 thoughts on “Get to Know the Fantasy Reader Tag”

  1. This is so much fun and I could totally see you in your answers! I’ve never heard of The New Weird sub genre before!? I never read From Blood and Ash yet but it’s got so many hype I had to add it in my TBR. I definitely recommend Ember from the Ashes if you haven’t read it yet!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As a fellow fantasy fan, I most definitely loved this! And I’m also looking forward to Rule of Wolves, although I’m a bit apprehensive, too, since I wasn’t the biggest fan of the twist at the end of King of Scars 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh, I’m so behind on tags and such, but I definitely will have to do this one at some point soon! I love this. I love fantasy. Admittedly, I have no plans to ever read a SJM book… I’ve heard her books are really good, but seeing them everywhere all the time, not to mention the fact that all the series are so long, has been making me stay way from them. Maybe one day! Same goes for Cassandra Clare. I do need to read The Cruel Prince though… I keep forgetting to check for that one at my library…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVE this post! Thank you so much for tagging me! I kept agreeing with everything, so I have funny feeling we’re going to have similar answers! 😅

    I still haven’t read King of Scars but I’m having a full on Leigh Bardugo read-a-thon so I’m definitely going to pick it up soon! I love Nikolai and by the sounds of it, I’m really missing out! ✨

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahhh I love your graphics for the tag, it’s gorgeous! Thanks for giving it a go – I totally agree that being in a world with fae is an absolute must 😂 I grew up on a strong diet of Narnia too, and I’ve been reading a lot more high fantasy this year too (including from blood and ash lol). Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, I may have to do this one! 😍 I definitely tend to lean towards high fantasy, and have to agree with you on the misconception of fantasy requiring magic and faires (though some do😉)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment