Tags

The Smashing and Dashing Awards 2020

Hi! First of all, I just want to say thank you so much for helping me reach 100 followers! It means so much that my little blog is followed by so many people!

I saw this on Noelle @ Wordgazing and Magic‘s blog and thought it was such a fun post to do! These awards were created by Paper Fury and I have to answer the prompts with characters I met in 2020! It doesn’t have to be books published in 2020, just those I read that year!


Most Relatable Character

Charlie Grant in Save the Date by Morgan Matson. Charlie is a very family-orientated character which is similar to me as my family always comes first. The only unrelatable thing is the romance! However, I really like her and found myself being able to relate to how she felt regarding change and growing up and family.

Most Pure Animal Companion

All of the dogs in The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. I don’t know if this counts as this was a reread but I love this book so much. I also can’t think of any other animal companions from 2020! But at the end of the day, the dogs help bring the main characters together so I am incredibly thankful for that!

Fiercest Fighter

Juliette in These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong! She was such a badass character, I am in awe! The detail in this book when it comes to violence and gore is quite extreme but it doesn’t bother Juliette. She is fierce and fearless and such a strong main character.

Am Surprised That I Loved You??

Marcus in Secrets of the Starcrossed. He has been betrothed to the main character for years but we don’t properly meet him until the second part of the book. I thought he would be a strict man as he was an obstacle to the relationship between Cassandra and Devyn. It turns out that I actually quite like him as a character and am interested to see where the story takes him next!

Best Sassmaster

Cassian, oh how I love you. I love the dynamic between him, Rhys and Azriel in A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I think Maas has the ability to create some of the sassiest characters and I am living for it!

Best Antihero

Nova in the Renegades Trilogy by Marissa Meyer. The trilogy concluded with Supernova in 2020 and I was in awe. I love her character so much and as an Anarchist, she has grown up hating the Renegades; the good guys. She poses as a Renegade to help destroy them. One of my favourite characters created by one of my favourite authors!

The Best Friends of All

Bryce and Danika from House of Earth and Blood! I love their friendship. Their friendship is extremely powerful and important to the plot of this book! If you haven’t already read this y Sarah J. Maas I truly recommend it!!

Best Villain TO HATE

Amarantha or the King of Hybern. URGH I hate them so much! I mean without them there wouldn’t be a story but I really wish they didn’t exist! They cause the characters of the ACOTAR series too much pain!

Award for Best vs Worst YA Parents

Best = I love Sidney and Asher’s parents in Meet Me at Midnight by Jessica Pennington. I think they’re fun and supportive of their children. I also think they portray realistic nice parents too, as they aren’t too relaxed when it comes to their children.

Worst = Hollis’ parents in The Betrothed are pretty awful as they aren’t accepting of her decisions and fail to be supportive. Also Marianne’s father in Viper is awful too.

Ship of All Ships in 2020

I have wayyyy too many so I am not going to include rereads and I am going to do one for fantasy and one for contemporary!

Fantasy = Bryce and Hunt – House of Earth and Blood

Contemporary = Asher and Sidney – Meet Me at Midnight

Most Precious Must Be Protected

Cardan. I read How The King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories and the Jurdan content was perfect. Cardan is such a precious character and I love him so much and am desperate for even more pov’s from him!

Honestly Surprised You’re Still Alive

Haha definitely Emilia from Kingdom of the Wicked! After summoning a Prince of Hell, and spending the book investigating her sisters murder, I’m surprised she made it through without serious damage!

Award for Making the Worst Decisions

I absolutely hate Coriolanus Snow and he made some of the worst decisions in The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes that made me hate him even more. I am really glad I read this book as I was worried it might make me like him, but I can confirm that it did not! I still detest his whole being with all my heart!

Most in Need of a Nap

I may be wrong. but I feel like a lot of Bone Crier’s Moon takes place at night. Therefore, I think Sabine, Ailesse and Bastien deserve a nap after the events of that book! I am counting down the days until the sequel!

Want to Read More About You

Allesandra from The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller! I loved her character development in this book and I am gutted it’s a standalone as I am desperate to see more of her story! I loved this book and really want to reread it again!


I tag:

Cherelle @ A Bolt Out of the Book

Becky @ Becky’s Book Blog

Lea @ Lea’s Literary Life

Samantha and Amber @ Bibliomavens

Hollie @ My Thing About Books

Also, if you see this and want to do it, consider yourself tagged by me!


I really enjoyed writing this post! Do you agree with the characters I’ve chosen? Let me know!

Keep reading,

Georgia x

25 thoughts on “The Smashing and Dashing Awards 2020”

  1. Ahh I am SO glad you did this tag! I absolutely love your answers! 😍

    I agree with Sarah J. Maas having some of the sassiest characters around! I feel like they’re the type of characters that always say what everyone else is thinking, haha.

    And Coriolanus Snow was the perfect answer for a character that makes the worst decisions. That mind of his has caused so much damage to innocent people, and The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes only exemplified that even more!

    As for the characters you mentioned that I haven’t read about yet, I hope to meet them soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh, I love this, thank you for tagging me! And now I have so many more books to look up because the only one of these I’ve read is The Betrothed (which, yes, HARD agree about Hollis’ parents).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The dogs from the Unexpected Everything totally deserve that award! They’re just so adorable, even when they’re vomiting all over the place 😂😂
    And I applaud you for giving the “Worst Decisions” award to Coriolanus Snow. If anyone deserves it, it’s him. I might hate him more for what he did to Sejanus than for any of the other terrible things he’s done!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve 100% made me want to do a Morgan Matson reread now! I honestly love her books and haven’t reread any of them for a while so I think I’ll have to do that soon. Although Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour is the only one I haven’t got to yet so I should definitely prioritise that one in 2021!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks so much for the tag!! This one looks like so much fun, we can’t wait to do it! I 100% support Cassian as the Sassmaster and Bryce and Danika as the best friends. There friendship is so well-developed. And congrats on 100 followers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment